Vascular Plants of the Gila Wilderness

Presented in Association with the
Western New Mexico University Department of Natural Sciences

(Oak Family, Beech Family)

The Fagaceae family contains two well-known genera: Fagus, or the Beeches, and Quercus, or the Oaks. In general, the Fagaceae are trees or shrubs, and have nuts that have a cap.

Quercus arizonica (Arizona White Oak)
*Quercus chrysolepis (Canyon Live Oak)
Quercus emoryi (Emory Oak)
Quercus gambelii (Gambel Oak)
Quercus grisea (Gray Oak)
Quercus hypoleucoides (Silverleaf Oak)
Quercus rugosa (Netleaf Oak)
Quercus turbinella (Shrub Live Oak)

Back to the Index