Board Of Regents Elects New Officers, Awards Emeritus Status

© Western New Mexico University

Silver City, NM – At its annual May meeting, the Western New Mexico University Board of Regents met to vote on several action items and elected a new slate of officers.

Janice Baca-Argabright was elected to serve as the new Board Chair, Dan Salzwedel will serve as the vice-chair and Camille Hawkins will remain as the secretary/treasurer. Regents Tony Trujillo and Jerry Walz will serve as members.

The Board approved the promotion and tenure of 12 professors and the post tenure review of eight professors. Emeritus status was awarded to retiring faculty including DeAnne Miller, George Muncrief, Sharman Russell, Janet Wallet-Ortiz, Patricia Cano, Pat McIntire and Linda Beattie.

Approval was granted to new programs including two Graduate Certificates in English and Writing; and a Graduate Certificate in Leadership in Healthcare Systems. The English and Writing certificates will benefit students in the Master of Arts in Interdisciplinary Studies program who are looking to strengthen their concentrations in those two areas.  The 15-credit Leadership in Healthcare Systems certificate is a post-baccalaureate program that prepares nurses and other healthcare professionals for leadership roles.

The Board approved word changes to the Board of Regents manual so that the publicity of alcohol for campus events was permissible.

Changes proposed to wording and design to the Student Handbook and updates to the Faculty Handbook were also approved.

A recorded feed of the meeting, and previous meetings, can be seen here:

Submit Feedback